Shoe Repairer Forum

Greenhorn looking for advice?

I’m new to the shoemaking community, starting simple with some shoe repairs. I purchased a pair of used Free People Royale ankle boots for my wife, but the heel top lifts are shot. (at first glance thought the toplifts are some type of fiberboard? but now thinking maybe leather?) I figured I could repair them making them essentially “brand new”. I have searched the web for replacements, purchased a pair of size 3 12 iron ‘emu’ rubber top lifts, but they are way too thick and too big.

Just from looking at the original top lifts I'm guessing when new were approximately 1/8”-3/16” thick, veg tan leather with what looks like fine lines in them for traction? I can’t find any info on “iron” thicknesses or size measurements of top lifts. Can I just use some 1/8” veg tan leather and cut the lines in with a swivel knife?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! I will post pics of the heel blocks and toplifts soon. 

Measure the top-piece, length/ width i.e. 2"x 2.5, thickness approx 5mm (confusing mixing " and mm I know but thats how we work sometimes)

Then you have to decide how you will fit them, nails, glue, screws, this will determine the type of top-piece you are needing, leather, rubber, p.v.c. e.t.c.

1 hour ago, Flash said:

Measure the top-piece, length/ width i.e. 2"x 2.5, thickness approx 5mm (confusing mixing " and mm I know but thats how we work sometimes)

Then you have to decide how you will fit them, nails, glue, screws, this will determine the type of top-piece you are needing, leather, rubber, p.v.c. e.t.c.

Here are the measurements, like I said in my original post I purchased emu rubber top lifts from myshoesupplies.com, they were size 3; 12 iron which were way oversized and too thick (almost 6mm). I was planning on glueing the top-pieces on as I have some Master All Purpose cement. 

8ECEDB04-607E-49B8-8823-567DAB73EE8C.jpeg

3572A1AF-1EA5-400E-87B7-85802042B8B6.jpeg