Beginners advice

Hi All,

I'm looking for some advice/direction on how to add a heel lift (1 leg shorter) to my own shoes. I have no experience as a cobbler/shoe repairer but i work in fine furniture making so I'll back my hand skills in to do a (hopefully) respectable job. Ive had a look on youtube and various other sites for quality tutorials but they're difficult to come by. What I would really like is a "textbook" that can suggest what tools i need, glues..etc.

Thank you and sorry if this topic has been covered on here but couldn't find it.

Regards,

Adrian

Hi Adrian I admire your positive attitude towards your DIY shoe build up but there are so many factors to take into consideration that you will not get a textbook answer  

There are a few forum members who will go into a long winded scenario for way you cant do it yourself but my best advise is to find and talk to a half decent shoe repairer

Good Luck

Hi,

The shoe I would like to start with is the Scarpa  Crux "approach" shoe. It has an Outersole from Vibram called the vertical approach, I tried finding the code of the sole on the Vibram catalogue but it wasn't in there. Im not sure if its made specifically for Scarpa. I couldn't find what the exact type of rubber it is.

The midsole is duel-density EVA, this doesn't mean anything to or whether its relevant. 

I need to lift the heel 8mm.

For this particular shoe my burning question, is what glue should I use? 

do I need a perfect flat surface to attach the heel? (there are groves in the current heel tread). I would prefer to us a gap-filling glue if such a thing exists.

Thanks you all for taking the time to reply to my post.

Regards,

Adrian

Below is a link to the Scarpa website.

https://www.scarpa.com/crux-15

I disagree 8mm is a lift big enough to cause damage further down the line.

i would be asking who gave you this measurement(do you have a prescription from your doctor with the precise correction)