Jump to content


Photo

The Vistool Owners Club


  • Please log in to reply
653 replies to this topic

#41 Mr Bargy

Mr Bargy

    Argy Bargy

  • Trade group users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,158 posts

Posted 20 August 2010 - 08:25 AM

:oops:

#42 ANDY

ANDY

    1000+ Poster: Expert user

  • Trade group users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,144 posts

Posted 23 August 2010 - 02:28 PM

my little GemRX seems to give me the necessary credentials to join this secret circle of vistoolness ownership

can I join? can i?......please :smt026
Posted Image

#43 StevenB

StevenB

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 2,955 posts
  • LocationCromer, Norfolk.

Posted 24 August 2010 - 10:47 AM

Consider it done.
Membership secretary rlj will add you to his master list :smt023
StevenB

#44 stutheshoe

stutheshoe

    200+ Poster : Intermediate user

  • Trade group users
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 481 posts

Posted 24 August 2010 - 10:53 AM

andy you have now become a masterbater :D :D

#45 CotswoldEngraver

CotswoldEngraver

    200+ Poster : Intermediate user

  • Trade group users
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 297 posts

Posted 25 August 2010 - 10:35 AM

I just want to say what nice people those u-marq guys are.

My CX4 recently developed a fault and without hesitation Mark came and took it away and left me his demo machine.
After repair he brought it back, (hows the back Mark after lugging it the stairs!) set it back up and then spent the next hour advising me on some production issues I had!
Nothing seems too much troble for them!!
Well done guys =D> =D> =D> =D>
Regards Andy
The Cotswold Engraver
http://www.thecotswoldengraver.co.uk

#46 StevenB

StevenB

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 2,955 posts
  • LocationCromer, Norfolk.

Posted 25 August 2010 - 01:55 PM

If you have a logo select show sequence and you will see the numbers they will be all over the place. Optimize sequence reroutes everything for the fastest time. Comprende


After this tip off last week, I investigated & found how this works. Brilliant one from rlj.
So today, when I had an engraving job with quite a complex logo & lots of text....I forgot to optimise the sequence until it was half way through engraving #-o

I blame it on the sleep deprivation!
StevenB

#47 Forest Cobbler

Forest Cobbler

    500+ Poster: Advanced user

  • Trade group users
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 621 posts

Posted 26 August 2010 - 02:28 PM

We have a Universal 300 running vistool 8, please can we join your club too?
And having read 'Logo zapping the Andy way' about how he does it on a Gravograph, does anyone have a similar tutorial for the Universal?
Thanks, Valerie

#48 Guest_Masterkey_*

Guest_Masterkey_*
  • Guests

Posted 28 August 2010 - 09:52 PM

VISTOOL all the way been using for past 5 years brilliant !

#49 Mr Bargy

Mr Bargy

    Argy Bargy

  • Trade group users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,158 posts

Posted 29 August 2010 - 11:09 AM

Welcome to the club both of you :D Any input or handy tips gratefully received. Does'nt matter if some of us know them, some of us might not.

#50 Mr Bargy

Mr Bargy

    Argy Bargy

  • Trade group users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,158 posts

Posted 29 August 2010 - 07:48 PM

I PM'd this to key cabin but i'll put it on here in case it helps anyone else

I'll see if I can guide you through the batch of plates thing.

first of all set up your flat bed and make sure its centralised.
next go to auto layout,in machining mode select flat bed. then enter the dimensions of your plate.
enter your text assuming all plates are to be engraved the same.click ok.

then go to standard engraving or alt+2 that will bring up a box headed standard production. now lets say for example you
want to engrave nine plates enter 3 in in the X box and 3 in the Y box. go to preview and you will see all the plates. then just hit ok.

#51 Mr Bargy

Mr Bargy

    Argy Bargy

  • Trade group users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,158 posts

Posted 29 August 2010 - 08:00 PM

To follow on from this lets say you have a batch of plates to do but with all different names

for example

Llandudno F.C.
name
2010

what you would then do is enter your text as before but enter $1$ in place of the name.

Llandudno F.C.
$1$
2010


bring up the standard production box again enter the amount of plates in the X & Y boxes and click text merge. this will bring up another box, enter the names one under the other click preview to check then click OK

#52 Mr Bargy

Mr Bargy

    Argy Bargy

  • Trade group users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,158 posts

Posted 29 August 2010 - 08:14 PM

You can enter the $ symbol for as many lines as you like

Llandudno F.C.
$1$
$2$
2010

then when you go into text merge enter your text like this

Joe Bloggs,Top Goal Scorer.

No space after the comma, the comma separates line one from line 2

Hope this makes sense

#53 windycity

windycity

    500+ Poster: Advanced user

  • Trade group users
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 680 posts

Posted 01 September 2010 - 08:34 PM

i am sure you all know this but anyway incase someone doesn't.

when engraving coloured pet tags the first run never quite comes out how you like it and you have to press repeat on the engraving machine panel or have a have the diamond rotating which leaves a odd look instead try this

do all your text sizing etc
then you would normally click on the engrave button
then a process box comes down
click on diamond engrave
then look at the bottom of that box theres a padlock click on it to open it
then under process setting
change the depth to 3.00
then below that in chip setting
change chip to 1.5
then carry on normally.

what this does is change the pass over run from 1 to 2
much easier.this on a gem vistool 7

windy

#54 StevenB

StevenB

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 2,955 posts
  • LocationCromer, Norfolk.

Posted 20 September 2010 - 03:22 PM

I do almost everything using keyboard shortcuts, so don't often delve into the menus.
Here's one I discovered by mistake due to a fat fingers keyboard moment.
I normally edit text using ALT+S to change each line at a time.
ALT+T opens a dialogue box where you can edit all the text in your engraving job.
You can't add more lines, but just for altering the text in a multi-line job, it's the biz! \:D/
StevenB

#55 Mr Bargy

Mr Bargy

    Argy Bargy

  • Trade group users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,158 posts

Posted 20 September 2010 - 03:33 PM

Wow fat fingers rule, good tip Stevemondo, need to select all first though. I missed that one.

#56 Mr Bargy

Mr Bargy

    Argy Bargy

  • Trade group users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,158 posts

Posted 20 September 2010 - 03:51 PM

Also good tip windy, I use that on brass plates too. I prefer to do 2 or 3 cuts on brass.

#57 Mr Bargy

Mr Bargy

    Argy Bargy

  • Trade group users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,158 posts

Posted 20 September 2010 - 04:22 PM

Bit of a mouse man myself only because I can't remember all the shortcuts. :( Hey nobody said it would get easier as you got older. :lol: :lol:

#58 derek

derek

    500+ Poster: Advanced user

  • Trade group users
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 788 posts

Posted 22 November 2010 - 10:15 AM

i am going to be speaking to a rep today with regards to buying the GEM-CX5,is there additional software that comes with it,and also did i read correctly that the gravo clamps work on it too?

#59 StevenB

StevenB

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 2,955 posts
  • LocationCromer, Norfolk.

Posted 22 November 2010 - 10:24 AM

It should come with v8 of the engraving software which is just about everything you'd ever need.
Option add ons are available, to enable you to do picture engraving.
The clamps that come with it will fit gravo machines as well as U-marq, as they have 2 sets of fitting holes in them. I don't think gravo jigs will fit this one though (unless you put another set of fitting holes in them).
StevenB

#60 derek

derek

    500+ Poster: Advanced user

  • Trade group users
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 788 posts

Posted 22 November 2010 - 10:26 AM

it seems the picture engraving is only £295 plus VAT,most likely worth buying it too,if things work out




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users